2010 Pritzker Winner: SANAA

The 2010 Pritzker Laureate has been named – with this year’s prestigious architecture award going to Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, the Japanese duo that form SANAA.

Now I’d like ask you readers a question that was posed to me earlier today: should they have ‘won’? Arch Daily conducted a reader poll, ad SANAA came in second to Steven Holl – so maybe this choice reflects the popularity of SANAA. But check out the list of previous laureates and then consider some names that are missing – Holl, Chipperfield, Toyo Ito… I’m not saying that I feel either way about it, I simply thought it was an interesting question when I heard it earlier today.

Drop a comment and let me know what you think.

Posted: March 28th, 2010
at 7:57pm by orangemenace

Categories: architecture,competitions,starchitects

Comments: 4 comments


4 Responses to '2010 Pritzker Winner: SANAA'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '2010 Pritzker Winner: SANAA'.

  1. I reckon Holl, Ito and Chipperfield will all have their time none of them is too old yet by architect standards. After Zumthor last year its a bit of a step down but it’s a reminder that for all the really great architects who’ve won this there’s plenty of just decent architects who were quite hot at the time.


    29 Mar 10 at 6:01 pm


  2. Klaus

    8 Apr 10 at 3:18 am


  3. chad

    9 Apr 10 at 8:22 pm


  4. I saw SANAA presentation at UIA Congress in Tokyo last September 2011. Superb.Weird. My 20 years experience in architecture seems useless to understand their works. I visit Dior by them at Omotesando. Sureal. I decided to relearn architecure….


    6 Nov 11 at 2:21 am



Leave a Reply